Some stuff you’ve probably missed!

welcome back

It’s been a hectic but rewarding couple of weeks at my desk. I’ve been busy reviewing products, hooking up with brands and dishing out life advice, but perhaps the most exciting piece of news to come out of the past fortnight is that I’ve been nominated for an award- Best Beauty Blog in the Blog Awards Ireland! I’m still reeling from that one!

I also emigrated to wordpress.org several weeks ago and I’m not sure if all my previous followers have been able to see my new posts. So just in case I’ve posted this roundup of all my most popular stories. Simply click on to any of them to be taken to the new site. I’d love if you re-subscribed while you were there too! 

 

blog awardsI’ve been nominated in the Blog awards Ireland!

Well this has to be one of the best things ever to wake up to! I scrolled down the Blog Award Ireland’s list of nominees this morning to find mine slap bang in the middle of the Best Beauty Category and then spent the next 5 minutes shouting ‘OH MY GOD!’ at my laptop screen. I think it’s a little bit fair to say I’m a big bit over the moon! I feel so…READ THE REST OF THIS ENTRY

 

 

instagram roundup1My Instagram Diary

The biggest news of the week has definitely been receiving a nomination for best beauty blog from the Blog Awards Ireland. I celebrated in true style by spending an entire day getting glammed up for a night out with friends, starting with a face pack and a giant mug of Coffee first thing on Saturday morning. I also took some time out this week by…READ THE REST OF THIS ENTRY

 

 

photo (26)Review: Rimmel Wake Me up Foundation

I have seriously high maintenance skin. It’s a demanding combination of oily areas and dry patches as well as being prone to blemishes. This means I require makeup that offers a heavier coverage and a formula that’s light enough to not clog my pores. But that’s a pretty tall order, am I right? I’ve been hearing rave reviews aboutRimmel Wake Me up foundation from sufferers of problem skin and I’m also a massive fan of…READ THE REST OF THIS ENTRY

 

Image (17)OOTD: Double Denim

Eek! Double denim is a little scary isn’t it? It’s a trend I’ve kind of avoided because sometimes it looks hot and sometimes not but when I looked in to my wardrobe today and couldn’t find a single thing to wear I thought, to hell with it let’s try this out. I’m feeling kinda casual and chilled so I wanted to keep the look just that- slightly ‘I just threw this together’, so I put on my favourite pair of dark denim skinnies, added my… READ THE REST OF THIS ENTRY

 

photo (20)Review: MUA Matte Perfect Primer

I confess, I haven’t used primer for absolutely ages. I’m a former Benefit That Gal addict but as it was too expensive I gave it up cold turkey and stopped using primer all together. And my skin started to suffer as a result of it. My foundation didn’t look as even and would slide off half way through the day and I suffered an oily T-zone. So I went on the hunt for a more…READ THE REST OF THIS ENTRY

 

 

photo (24)Celebrating my nomination

I’m still a little fuzzy headed from celebrating my blog award nomination last night. To celebrate I teetered off to a friend’s house in my old faithful nude patent heels with a bottle of Gallo Pink Moscato under my arm. We had ‘the chats’ and ate some nibbles before hitting up one of our local bars for some more drinks and…READ THE REST OF THIS ENTRY

 

 

Self-EsteemBe a self esteem queen

I think I’m pretty neat. No, really I do. I’m funny, I’m kind and I love to make people laugh. Sure, sometimes I talk too much, I probably irritate the hell out of my siblings and I’m a helluva long way from perfect, but despite that I feel pretty darn comfy in my own skin and that’s a really lovely place to be.Good self esteem isn’t about…READ THE REST OF THIS ENTRY

 

 

photo 4 (2)HD Brows

I’ve been meaning to make an appointment for HD Brows for absolutely ages and I’m really glad I finally did it, because I’m absolutely in love with my new set of face framers. HD Brows is a revolutionary eyebrow design process, using waxing, threading and tinting to give you perfectly defined eyebrows, matched to your personality and face shape.  And from personal experience I can say…READ THE REST OF THIS ENTRY

 

photo 2 (8)Today’s Purchase

This is my first River Island purchase in 3 years! In my defence I’ve been out of the country for two of those years but it’s a store I normally avoid anyway because I think they’re a tad over priced. (Sorry RI!) But what can I say, I’m a demon for the sales and I picked this little bad boy up for a thrifty 12 quid, reduced down from 25. I’m a bit mad for florals right now and any outfit that I can take from day to night is a sure fire purchase- I plan on adding…READ THE REST OF THIS ENTRY

 

manicureHow to make a DIY mani last a week

I spend ages painting my nails so I can get them just right. I paint them different colours, experiment with new designs and put in all the prep work to make my DIY mani look it’s best, so obviously when I go to these lengths to give myself a stellar manicure I want to make it last as long as possible. You probably already know the basics of a long lasting polish- A base coat to add staying power, a top coat to seal it all in and two coats of your favourite polish in between but somehow you still get …READ THE REST OF THIS ENTRY

instagram 3Inspiration Destination

As always I’ve been talking about my favourite quotes and discussing all things inspiration. Get your daily inpso fix right over here.

 

 

 

 

Until next time twenty somethings,

 

signature

 

About Victoria Stokes

Journo, quote lover and coffee fiend. Follow my ramblings on twitter @VictoriaLStokes

Posted on July 30, 2014, in Trending right now. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment